Share an Outlook calendar

Share your calendar in an email

  1. Click Calendar.

    Calendar command

  2. Click Home > E-mail Calendar.

    On the Home tab, click E-mail Calendar

  3. In the Calendar and Date Range boxes, pick the calendar and time period you want to share. For example, choose Today only or for the Next 7 days.

    In the Calendar and Date Range boxes, pick the options you want

  4. Set any other options you want, and then click OK.

  5. In the new email that opens, add who you want the message to go to in the To field, add a message if you want, and click Send.

The person you sent your calendar to will see a snapshot of your calendar in the message.

Example of a calendar shared in an email

The message also includes an attached iCalendar (.ics) file that they can open in Outlook or another calendar program. When the recipient clicks the iCalendar file, Outlook displays the file as a new calendar that they can view side-by-side with their calendar. They can drag appointments or meetings between the two calendars, and find a time that works for both of you.

Share your Office 365 or other Exchange-based calendar with people inside or outside your organization

If you have an Office 365 or other Microsoft Exchange-based email account, and you want to share your calendar with someone who is inside or outside your organization, you can give them permissions to view your calendar.

They will be able to view your calendar in the Outlook app, Outlook on the web, and their Outlook mobile app.

Share your calendar with people inside your organization

  1. Click Calendar.

    Calendar command

  2. Click Home > Share Calendar.

    Share Calendar button in Outlook 2013 Home tab

  3. In the email that opens, type the name of the person in your organization that you want to share your calendar with in the To box. In Details, specify the level of details that you want to share with the person in your organization, and then click Send.

    Invitation to share mailbox email internally - To box and Details setting

  4. The person in your organization receives the sharing invitation in email, and then clicks Open this calendar.

    Open this Calendar button on a received calendar sharing invitation

The shared calendar displays in the person’s Calendar list.

Share your calendar with people outside your organization

  1. Click Calendar.

    Calendar command

  2. Click Home > Share Calendar.

    Share Calendar button in Outlook 2013 Home tab

  3. In the email that opens, type the email address for the person outside of your organization that you want to share your calendar with in the To box. In Details, specify the level of details that you want to share with the person outside of your organization, and then click Send.

    Invitation to share mailbox email externally - To box and Details setting

    If the following error displays when you try to send your sharing invitation, you have tried to share more details than is supported by the settings in your organization. If this occurs, under Details, choose to share a different level of details. Only an admin in your organization can change the sharing policy settings for your organization. For more information, see the end of this section.

    Error message - Policy does not allow granting permissions

  4. The person in your organization receives the sharing invitation in email, and then clicks Open this calendar.

    Open this Calendar button on a received calendar sharing invitation

  5. The shared calendar displays in the person’s Calendar list.

If you receive an error when you try to share more details that are supported by the sharing policy settings in your organization, contact the person that manages your email account.

What permissions people have to your calendar

When you initially share your calendar with people, you're only granting them permission to view the calendar. You can choose what level of detail you want them to view:

  • Availability only. They can only see which times you're available, like this:

    What your calendar looks like to the person you shared it with.

  • Limited details. They will see availability and the subject, like this:

    What your calendar looks like to a user when you share it with limited details.

  • Full details. This will see all details of your appointments, just like what you see.

After you give someone permission to view your calendar, you can increase their permissions so they can do more besides just view it. Here are the permission levels you can assign; see the next section for how to change/assign permission levels.

With this permission level (or role)

You can

Owner

Create, read, modify, and delete all items and files, and create subfolders. As the folder owner, you can change the permission levels that other people have for the folder. (Does not apply to delegates.)

Publishing Editor

Create, read, modify, and delete all items and files, and create subfolders. (Does not apply to delegates.)

Editor

Create, read, modify, and delete all items and files.

Publishing Author

Create and read items and files, create subfolders, and modify and delete items and files that you create. (Does not apply to delegates.)

Author

Create and read items and files, and modify and delete items and files that you create.

Contributor

Create items and files only. The contents of the folder do not appear. (Does not apply to delegates.)

Reviewer

Read items and files only.

Custom

Perform activities defined by the folder owner. (Does not apply to delegates.)

None

You have no permission. You cannot open the folder.

You can also create custom permissions by selecting the appropriate check boxes and options under Permissions.

Change/assign permissions after you have shared your calendar with other people

You can change calendar sharing permissions.

  1. Click Calendar.

    Calendar command

  2. Click Home > Calendar Permissions.

    Calendar Permissions button in Outlook 2013 Home tab

  3. On the Permissions tab, make any changes to the calendar sharing permissions.

    Calendar Sharing Permissions tab in Outlook 2013

  4. Click OK.

Stop sharing your calendar

At any time you can revoke access to your calendar. Note that it may take a while for Office 365 and the user's Outlook to sync and remove the view to your calendar.

  1. Click Calendar.

  2. Click Home > Calendar Permissions.

  3. On the Permissions tab, click the user's name and then choose Remove.

  4. Click OK.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.